Husband's weight gain

CherryPi

Hi, I've been lurking for a while and enjoying everyone elses stories, and thought it was time to share my own. 

So I've been feeding my husband for about 3-4 years now, though we've been together much longer - he played sports for the first few years of our relationship, so gaining was out of the question. With that came an obsession with fitness and maintaining a certain physique, but since retirement he has relaxed enormously, which has been fantastic to see. 

For the first couple of years, he put weight on easily but then panicked and lost it again - this pattern continued for a while but a few pounds stuck around every time, and his weight gradually crept up. I've always been chubby but gained about 40-50lbs myself during this time, which I think helped him learn to accept that being fat is ok and there's nothing wrong with letting go a bit. 

The last 2 years (and this year in particular) he has really found his appetite and grown to enjoy food just as much as I do. We've got into a routine of dessert every night and lots of high-calorie snacks - and now he looks forward to dessert and pesters me to go get it, whereas his reaction often used to be "dessert again?? No thanks". It makes me incredibly happy to see him get so much pleasure from eating now. I've slowly introduced him to the joys of stuffing and belly rubs as well, which he loves 😁 

This year though, he has really filled out - his waist has increased from 51" - 56" since December and his weight has increased from 243lb in August to 251lb today! His start weight was 185lb all those years ago so I'm over the moon with how much he's grown. 

The best thing - and what prompted me to write this - is we were talking today and he said he no longer just accepts that he's fat..... He likes it!! He likes people saying "wow, you're a big bloke" (he's 6'4" tall as well), he feels strong and robust, he likes taking up space, and he likes being fed, pampered and adored by me.