Post baby wife and depo provera

My wife is 1.5 months post baby number 2. She's still up 20ish pounds from pre-pregancy (which is 20ish up from pre-first).  She's sitting around 145 and is 5'4". 

She's starting depo provera tomorrow after not being on any birth control since 2015.  It really seems like the best fit for our family at the moment as we can't afford a surprise at the moment. A positive side effect (from my perspective) is the seemingly common and possibly substantial weight gain. I've been reading a bunch of old message boards online about it, but I'm looking to see if anyone on this board has any experience.

If you took it please let me know your experience. Did you or SO gain? If yes, how much, how quickly, and how soon after starting? Where did the weight seem to concentrate? And if you or SO is no longer on it did the weight go away or stick around?

I have no firsthand experience but since my wife had endocrine and fertility issues I used to read heavily into the topic. Depo is, as far as I have understood it, a progestagen of the kind used in one-component BC pills. As such, it tends to mimic progesterone, so while it might stimulate appetite and slow down metabolism, it will probably also have little no impact on weight concentration - that's more of an estrogen thing. I recall reading that in some cases there was some more pronounced belly gain, but not of the best kind, since it was visceral rather than subcutaneous fat.

Also, be warned that depo may have a negative impact on your lady's mood and libido. While my wife in an angel on natural progesterone, most artificial progestagens tend to hurt her libido and make her moody and irritable. This is something that I also found when researching the subject back then - many women on message boards reported such problems (mood and libido issues).