I Hear That Nancy Is Very Pretty

swahilimonkfish

I hear that Nancy is very pretty.

I can hear it in the way she laughs. I can hear it in the way her voice squeaks when she gets excited. I can very clearly hear that Nancy is very pretty. Nancy sounds perfect.

I can’t see that she’s pretty. I’m blind. Well, I can kinda see light from dark, but not a lot else. I certainly can’t see Nancy.

I hear her though when we have lunch at the work cafeteria. We have overlapping social circles and we congregate at 1pm around the table at the back of the canteen, out of the way. Gunnar basically guides me to my seat. He’s my best mate and colleague. We work as analysts in the ahem… public sector. Which is how I have to describe my job as a recordings analyst at GCHQ. Gunnar works as a translator. I work as a human lie detector.

Being blind helps with that kind of thing. My friends call me Daredevil, but honestly I can pick up slight pitch changes, quivers, evasions in speech and can work out from that if they are lying, like nobody else can. Other friends call me Rainman. My actual name is Clyde.

So, I asked if Nancy was pretty.

“Sure bro, you could say she was pretty” Gunnar said, his Norwegian accent lost under American inflection, as so many who grow up learning English from the movies do.

“So she’s not pretty?”

People don’t notice they’re dong this, but sometimes they soften their lie by saying ‘you could say...’, or sometimes it’s to convince themselves. I think it was the former here.

“No, no, I think she is pretty” he was back-tracking instead of attacking, which meant he was still trying to convince himself. That ‘think’. That’s a caveat. It serves as plausible deniability to his conscience. I reckon Gunnar didn’t want to say she was ugly out of politeness.

“Be honest mate. I can always tell. And anyway, it’s not like I’d hold it against her. Blind, remember?”